What Makes Babies Happy

This isn’t the first contest on Indiblogger hosted by Pampers, and when I saw that there was another one, I have to admit I went like, “Meh” for a but. But then when I saw the subject, I burst out laughing.

Why?

Because, well, despite the fact that I’m only a 20 year old, a baby to my mum myself, and definitely not a mother, the day this contest was posted, I became an aunt to a little princess.

And so I maybe have a little bit of experience to write this post now! 😀

One thing I’ve noticed with babies is that they absolutely loved being rocked. To sleep, especially. Just wrap them up nicely in a blanket, swaddle them, hold them close to your chest, and just start rocking. Puts them straight to sleep. Aside from the fact that new borns sleep almost all day, this works even for babies a few months old. I think it has something to do with the repetitive motion, and just the motion itself. I mean, I still go to sleep every time I get into an auto.

And then there’s this – interaction. Babies love interaction. Research shows that even new born babies become attuned to the sound of their mother’s voices within few hours of birth. How awesome is that? And it really is true. My niece actually moves her eyes towards the direction from which her mother’s voice is coming. It’s fascinating to watch. So interaction helps. They just soak up all the cooing and squealing and talking in saccharine tones and all that attention that they’re getting. It works every time.

Making a fool of yourself does the trick too. Haven’t you ever noticed how every time they cry, and someone in the vicinity does something crazy and dumb, they just light right up? I love that!

I’m sure we’ve all heard the age old adage that goes, “The way to a man’s heart is through the stomach.”

Well, that is true. But what you may not have known is that the way to baby’s heart is also through its stomach. They love food, and no wonder. Even if their choices are limited, what they do have is yum. C’mon, have any of you tasted Cerelac? It’s freaking awesome. I’d have it three times a day if I were allowed to!

Actually, you know what? Come to think of it, babies are basically little machines that sleep and eat all day and all night, with little gurgling in between. That is definitely strange, come to think of it.

And the last, and obvious way to a baby’s happiness, is obviously, the nappy. I’m sure I’m not the only one who’s seen mothers do the check when a baby starts crying: wound, food, and pampers.

Works every time!

Leave a Reply

